The United Nations Country Team (UNCT) in Sierra Leone consists of all the 22 UN agencies, funds and programmes in Sierra Leone. The UNCT works “as one” to support development.

UNCT works to achieve the “Agenda for Prosperity (pdf)” through a people-centred, rights-based approach to development as outlined in the Joint Vision of the UN Family for Sierra Leone (pdf) – 2009-2012, the Transitional Joint Vision – 2013-2014 and the United Nation´s Development Assistance Framework to be implemented from 2015 to 2019.

The UNCT is led by Mr. Sunil Saigal, UN Resident Coordinator (RC) for the Republic of Sierra Leone.

United Nations Country Team Sierra Leone Members

Agency Name Title
RCO Mr. Sunil Saigal RC, RR
AfDB Ms. Peninah Kariuki Country Manager
DSS Mr. Juventine Odoket UN CSA
FAO Mrs. Nyabenyi Tito Tipo Country Representative
ILO Mr. Dennis Zulu Director
IMF Mrs. Iyabo Marsha Representative
IOM Mr. Sanusi Savage Head of Office
UN Women Ms. Mary Okumu Representative
UNAIDS Mr. Michael Gboun Country Coordinator
UNCDF Ms. Tenzin Keyzom Massally (Ngodup) Regional Technical Advisor
UNDP Mr. Samuel Doe Country Director
UNESCO Mr. Ydo Yao Regional Director
UNFPA Ms. Kim Dickson Country Representative
UNHCR Ms. Moijama Siafa Officer-in-Charge
UNICEF Mr. Hamid El Bashir Representative
UNIDO Ms. Mariatu Swaray Officer-in-Charge
UNODC Mr. Juan Sandee Ramiro Officer-in-Charge
UNOPS Mr. Nicholas Mark Gardner Country Manager
WFP Mr. Housainou Taal Representative
WHO Mr. Alex Chimbaru Representative
World Bank Ms. Gayle Martin Country Manager